Divine Touch

Posted: May 3, 2015 in Uncategorized
There are times in the spiritual journey when God feels distant. From Mother Theresa to John of the Cross, the saints of the church have described feeling the absence of God. The author of the 22nd Psalm writes of being forsaken by God. There have been times in my life that I too have cried from the depth of my heart and felt as if my prayer bounced off the ceiling.

Just as there are times when God seems distant, there are also times when God feels near. There are moments when the veil between the temporal and the divine is thin. Times when the sacred presence is overwhelmingly near.

Yesterday was one of those times.

As part of our missionary training, we have been sharing our call stories. The process of telling the story was powerful in itself, looking back and seeing how far God has brought me.

However, after the time of sharing, the one who has shared is prayed for. While there have been moments I longed for the touch of God, I felt it yesterday. I felt it in the hands of missionaries who have served in Mexico and Liberia, in the Congo and Nicaragua, in Côte d’Ivoire and Brazil, in the Philippines and the United States.

The people I am training with are saints. Saints who have already participated in amazing ministries. Saints, in whose hands, I felt God.

 
 

Leave a Reply

