Do you see what I see?

Posted: April 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

What does a missionary look like? 

Serving as a missionary in Columbus, Ohio, I encounter this question. When I tell people I am a missionary, their response is often a quizzical look as people expect missionaries to be serving in distant lands. I find myself explaining how I am a missionary, in ways I wouldn’t if I served in another part of the world. My mission location doesn’t look like what people expect.

What does a missionary look like?

The answer to this question is influenced by your perspective.

Yesterday we began three weeks of missionary training provided by Global Ministries. Of the dozen  missionaries in training, almost half grew up in another country. Nearly half are from Asia, Latin America, or Africa. Our gathering is rich in diversity and dialect. 

The understanding of what a missionary looks like is very different among people whose first language isn’t English. In some cases, it was the experience with these incoming missionaries who taught and preached and healed that led them to become missionaries themselves. 

IMG_0386
Sharing these different perspectives makes me look at myself differently. Missionary is not just a title on a business card, it is a presence I bring to every occasion. When I say that I am a missionary, people look at me differently, but what do they see?

In John 14, Jesus says, “anyone who has seen me has seen the Father.” 

How are people seeing the Father through my missionary service?
Leave a Reply

