surprised by grace

Posted: March 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

We call it a divine economy of God’s abundance. It could more simply be called faith. A faith I am still learning to live in to.

From my first week at Church For All People, I’ve seen this practice in action. Opportunities are lifted up in prayer and prayers are answered. This may not be a new concept, I’ve just never seen it so deeply ingrained as organizational praxis. 

This morning, only three people were around to unload 10,000 pounds of produce. How would we process, stock, and distribute food to a hundred people? By mid morning the market was bustling with volunteers, some I had never seen before who worked tirelessly. We went from undermanned to overwhelmed. A divine economy of God’s abundance.

This same morning, I was sharing with our graduating dietician our need for someone to teach nutrition classes over the summer. A couple of hours later I had an email from a perspective student intern. A divine economy of God’s abundance.

The best way to describe what I do on a daily basis is that I connect an abundance of resources with opportunities to build the kingdom of God. I sit on a treasure of resources that I am unaware of, and am continually surprised by, and I dispense grace.

Not a bad gig.

Comments
  1. Erin says:

    Totally get it!

    Like

  2. […] I mentioned in previous blog posts, Community Development for All People operates under the principle of the divine economy of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

